Skip to Main Content
Cases, Commentary, Legislation & Databases
Legal encyclopedias are a good starting point to finding primary resources on particular legal topics or practice areas, including key legal principles, historical backgrounds and references to cases and legislation - they may also provide references to other relevant writings for further research.
Halsbury's Laws of Australia
See Title 130 — Criminal Law.
This legal encyclopaedia provides an overview of Australian law including references to cases and legislation.
The Laws of Australia
See Title 9 - Criminal Law Principles; Title 10 - Criminal Offences; Title 11 - Criminal Procedure; Title 12 - Criminal Sentencing.
An encyclopaedia of legal principles covering every Australian jurisdiction; provides references to Australian legislation and cases by topic.
Legal commentaries offer more specific referencing and scholarly discussion on specific legislation or cases to do with Criminal Law.
Criminal Practice & Procedure NSW
Includes summary and indictable legislation in NSW. Legislation is current and includes case citations with cross-references to legislative provisions.
Federal Criminal Law
Includes searchable related legislation, case references and expert commentary relating to the Commonwealth Crimes Act.
Local Court Criminal Practice NSW
Provides a step-by-step guide to the practice and procedure of criminal matters in local courts. It provides commentary on both the law and practice of the Local Courts of NSW.
Sentencing Law NSW
A comprehensive commentary which examines the principles, practice and procedure applicable to the sentencing process.
Case law and legislation are the meat of the legal system. Legislation and Acts of parliament are the laws of the land, and the case law rulings of the judiciary establish common law legal precedence for future rulings. It is thus imperative that students familiarize themselves and heavily reference the legislation and case law for their practice area.
FirstPoint on Westlaw AU is a case citator that provides access to case references, citations, litigation history, and digest information for Australian cases from 1825.
CaseBase on LexisNexis provides access to case annotations. The database contains mainly Australian cases but some UK and NZ cases are included.
Legislation from all Australian jurisdictions is available from AustLII. Always check the currency of each database.
Legislation from nine Australian jurisdictions can be searched and browsed from this website. Links to relevant case law and commentary are also included.
An excellent filtering tool, designed to assist you in getting to the latest Australian legislation in your practice area (Commonwealth, States and Territories).
Attorney General's Information Service (AGIS) - Informit This link opens in a new window
The Attorney-General's Information Service (AGIS) is produced by the Attorney-General's Department, and contains over 120 law journals from the Australian, New Zealand and Asian Pacific region.
AUSTLII Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Free database run by a consortia of Australian Universities and other institutions containing full-text for legislation, journal articles, and rulings.
Australian Commonweath Law Database (ComLaw) This link opens in a new window
Australian Government funded database containing the full text of all recent legislation from 70 different agencies. It also details of the lifecycle of individual laws and the relationships between them, and related documents.
Australian Institute of Criminology Statistics This link opens in a new window
Various statistics relating to crime and prisoners.
Australian Law Reform Commission Publications (ALRC) This link opens in a new window
Federal agency conducts inquiries into areas of law and makes recommendations to government to make informed decisions regarding law reform. Their site contains numerous, useful and free resources including news, reports and proposals.
BAILII Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
The British and Irish Legal Information Institute, is the British version of AUSTLII, containing free database resources covering legislation and case law.
Commonwealth Sentencing Database This link opens in a new window
The purpose of the Commonwealth Sentencing Database is to provide judicial officers and other users with rapid and easy access to information about sentencing for Commonwealth offences. It contains a lot of helpful free and subscription-based material to this end.
HeinOnline Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals and in excess of 16,000 titles including documents from the American Association of Law Libraries, International Law Association,U.S. Presidential Library and the Supreme Court of the United States.
IntelliConnect (CCH) This link opens in a new window
Intelliconnect is a gateway to a broad range of legal case law and commentary across a wide array of Australian legal matters and practice areas.
Legal Scholarship Network (via SSRN) This link opens in a new window
The Legal Scholarship Network is a scholarly repository for legal articles and academic works.
LexisNexis AU This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth, comprehensive and authoritative information from premium titles and recent releases. Areas of expertise include Australian corporate finance, insurance law, civil liability, taxation, intellectual property, superannuation law, trade practices and workplace relations.
National Centre for Crime and Justice Statistics (ABS) This link opens in a new window
Statistics, media releases, articles and information papers relating to crime and justice in Australia.
New South Wales Government Legislation This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable database of all NSW government parliamentary legislation.
NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research This link opens in a new window
Crime statistics and maps for NSW.
Westlaw AU This link opens in a new window
Provides expert analysis and up-to-date content on reports and cases from the Commonwealth and New South Wales. The collection covers competition and consumer law, corporations, court practice, criminal law, equity and trusts, evidence, family law, property and international content.
WorldLII International Law Library This link opens in a new window
The International Law Library includes both the International Treaties Collection and the International Courts and Tribunals Collection, and contains over 80,000 documents.
Using Law Databases
Struggling to use the databases? Check out the collection of user guides here. You'd be surprised how many tools are available to help make your searching faster, relevant, and more precise.
Copyright © 2019 Australian National Institute of Management and Commerce (IMC) Registered Higher Education Provider TEQSA PRV12059 | CRICOS 02491D
Top Education Group Ltd ACN 098 139 176 trading as Australian National Institute of Management and Commerce (IMC)
All content is subject to change.