Skip to main content

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societ

Seach for Articles with Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

On-campus access

Visit http://scholar.google.com and begin searching. You're good to go!

Off-campus access

If you are off campus you will need to set the preferences so that Google will show you the resources that TOP provides.

  1. Go to http://scholar.google.com
  2. Look above the search box and click Settings from the top menu.
  3. Click on Library Links from the navigation bar along the side of the page.
  4. Enter TOP Email address in the text field next to Library Links then click on the Search button.
  5. Check the box in the front of our university name, then click Save in the lower right corner.

 

Searching with Google Scholar

Within Google Scholar you may conduct searches by keyword, author and article title. There is also an advanced search with more options. , that means we have access to the electronic copy for the article. 

Google Scholar is good for conducting simple searches across a broad number of databases. For complex or in depth searching we recommend that you search individual subject databases.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Google Scholar Citations provide a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles.

Make your profile public, so that it appears in Google Scholar results when people search for your name or publications.

Follow these step-by-step instructions to set up your Google Scholar profile.

Setting up Your Google Scholar Profile
 
 
2. Sign in to your Google Scholar account using your TOP Education email provided to you.
 
3. Click on ‘My Profile’ to set up your Google Scholar Profile. This is also where you can edit your profile in the future.
 
4. Fill in your details. Enter your TOP Education email address in the ‘Email for verification’ field, so that your affiliation can be verified and therefore your profile will be eligible for inclusion in Google Scholar search results (your email address will not display on your public profile).
 
5. Click ‘Next’.
 
6. On the next page, you'll see groups of articles written by people with names similar to yours.
 
7. You can either click "Add all articles" next to each article group that is yours, or click "See all articles" to only add specific articles from that group.
If you don't see your articles in these groups, click "Search articles" to do a regular Google Scholar search, and then add your articles one at a time. Feel free to do as many searches as you like.
 
8. Once you've added all your articles, it will ask you what to do when the article data changes in Google Scholar. You can either have the updates applied to your profile automatically, or you can choose to review them beforehand. In either case, you can always go to your profile and make changes.
NOTE: It is advisable to allow Google Scholar to automatically update your profile as it will capture your publications as they become available in the search engine. Check your profile regularly to ensure articles by similarly named authors are not incorrectly attributed to you, and vice versa!
 
9. Final touches …
Add a professional photo, click the verification link sent to your supplied email, double check the list of articles, and, once you're completely satisfied; make the profile public so it’s eligible to appear in Google Scholar search results.
 
10. Click ‘EDIT’ next to ‘Co-authors’ to search for co-authors and link to their Google Scholar profiles.
 
11. To add publications you can use the + button and choose an entry option.
 
12. Choosing ‘Add article groups’ or ‘Add articles’ allows you to search for (using authors, keywords, or article title) and choose articles which are already indexed by Google Scholar.
 
13. Once you've added all your articles, it will ask you what to do when the article data changes in Google Scholar. You can either have the updates applied to your profile automatically, or you can choose to review them beforehand. In either case, you can always go to your profile and make changes.
NOTE: It is advisable to allow Google Scholar to automatically update your profile as it will capture your publications as they become available in the search engine. Check your profile regularly to ensure articles by similarly named authors are not incorrectly attributed to you, and vice versa!
 
14. To update your profile details at any time click on the pencil icon next to your name.
 
15.  To delete articles have been added to your profile by mistake, select the articles you would like to remove. Then, choose the "Delete" option from the Actions menu.
 
16.  After you have made your profile public you can set up email notifications for when your publications are cited. Use the ‘Follow’ button to enable this feature.
 
17. Additional Help: 
 
 
Copyright © 2019 Top Education Institute. ABN 36 098 139 176 Registered Higher Education Provider PRV12059 CRICOS 02491D. All content is subject to change.