Library Guides: Legal Method, Research and Writing: Law Database Guides

Legal Method, Research & Writing

Negotiating Legal Databases

The below links and resources contain helpful information as to knowing you way around the various Law databases that TOP provides.

For specific database information pertaining to practice areas, please consult the guides for those areas.

Austlii Legal Research Tutorial
Tutorials for using the Austlii database.
FAQ for the SSRN Legal Scholarship Network
FAQ containing information on the site as well as helpful tips for advanced searching and research.
HeinOnline Comprehensive User Guide
Guide to Hein's large database of law materials.
Intelliconnect (CCH) Comprehensive User Guide
Comprehensive guide to finding materials on CCH Intelliconnect.
LexisNexis Australia User Guide
User guide for finding information in LexisNexis.
WestlawAU Quick Guide
User Quick Guide for searching on the WestlawAU database.

Advanced Searching

Database Tutorial Media

LexisNexis Law School Guides:

CCH Intelliconnect Tutorial Playlist:

Other Resources for Legal Research and Writing

Compiling Research Materials
Once you find what you're looking for, you need to extract and compile the information and structure it into a coherent argument. This resource is designed to assist you in that process.

Featured Resource

State Library Researching Law

Legal Method, Research and Writing

Negotiating Legal Databases

Advanced Searching

Database Tutorial Media

Other Resources for Legal Research and Writing

Featured Resource

Further Support

Related Guides